Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

average RN starting age

Big_e

Midshipman
what age did you start RN basic?

and what is the average age of recruits doing their basic?

Ninja_Stoker

War Hero
It varies a good deal. Arguably the average is 27, but often it's less than that. A couple of weeks ago I was talking to a class of 24 new entrants, 3 were over 30.

Black2Blue

War Hero
Ninja_Stoker said:
It varies a good deal. Arguably the average is 27, but often it's less than that. A couple of weeks ago I was talking to a class of 24 new entrants, 3 were over 30.

That's encouraging.

Sea_Dodger

Lantern Swinger
When I was a Phase One instructor I had a guy in one of my classes who joined in the same entry as me 17 years earlier but PVR'ed only to join again aged 34! I would imagine the average age has increased, but mid twentys sounds about right.

How times have changed. In Nelson's day Powder Monkey (3rd Class) would join at the age of 10. In Higgy's (Boy Wafoo) and Nutty's day (Junior Seaman) they joined at 15. In the era of Big-e it's 16 (AB) and in the zeitgeist of the King William V it'll probably be 17 (and the starting rate will be Assistant PO for ratings and Assistant Commander for Ossifers :giggle: ).

When I joined 30 years ago at the grand old age of 16 and 3 months, the average age was around 19/20.

Today I would say the average age is far higher more like 26/28. The oldest recruit I've put in was 36. In fact I had a 33 year old new recruit working in my office whilst awaiting his Submariners course. He is loving it and wishes he'd done it sooner.

Whatever age you are there will be others joining at about the same age as you.

Don't let age be the thing that stops you.

SM

:nemo:

Grim_Reaper said: