average RN starting age

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Big_e, Dec 8, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. what age did you start RN basic?

and what is the average age of recruits doing their basic?

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

It varies a good deal. Arguably the average is 27, but often it's less than that. A couple of weeks ago I was talking to a class of 24 new entrants, 3 were over 30.

3. I'm starting basic in March and I'll be 23 then.

4. That's encouraging.

5. and i thought joining at 19 was late!

6. When I was a Phase One instructor I had a guy in one of my classes who joined in the same entry as me 17 years earlier but PVR'ed only to join again aged 34! I would imagine the average age has increased, but mid twentys sounds about right.

7. How times have changed. In Nelson's day Powder Monkey (3rd Class) would join at the age of 10. In Higgy's (Boy Wafoo) and Nutty's day (Junior Seaman) they joined at 15. In the era of Big-e it's 16 (AB) and in the zeitgeist of the King William V it'll probably be 17 (and the starting rate will be Assistant PO for ratings and Assistant Commander for Ossifers :giggle: ).

8. I'm joining aged 20 in 6 days.

9. If/when I get the start date I've been told to expect I'll be 26 on entry.

10. When I joined 30 years ago at the grand old age of 16 and 3 months, the average age was around 19/20.

Today I would say the average age is far higher more like 26/28. The oldest recruit I've put in was 36. In fact I had a 33 year old new recruit working in my office whilst awaiting his Submariners course. He is loving it and wishes he'd done it sooner.

Whatever age you are there will be others joining at about the same age as you.

Don't let age be the thing that stops you.

SM

:nemo: