ATC Officer or AC?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Felix_Cat, Sep 18, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I'm new to RR and have read through many of the forums and threads with great interest. I know that someone else has previously asked a similar question but I am really unsure as to whether I should join as an ATC Officer or as an AC. I have submitted my application form and put ATC officer as my first choice as I have the necessary education qualifications and I do think that I would like to be an Officer however I am also keen to travel and be involved in a more hands-on job and so my local AFCO has suggested that I should go down the route of AC. Does anyone have any advice or could give me a better breakdown of the duties involved with each job as the Royal Navy website doesn't expand greatly on either position.

Many thanks.
  2. ATC officers are hands-on, for a start. Ask the AFCO for an officers' acquaint course, and see what you think.
  3. If you want to travel, join as an AC, you'll see tthe world, trust me.

If you want to see flattops, Culdrose and Yeovilton rotating ad nauseam, become an ATCO.

If travel is high up on your list of priorities it's a no-brainer.
  4. What if he wants a pretty uniform, lots more money and lots more respect. :p
  5. Then ATCO is definitely not for him!
  6. It's a tough one;
    ATCO = more pay, more stability, better uniform, better pension.
    AC = more travel, occasionally more responsibility (debatable admittedly), considerably lower pay.