army to navy

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by 1461chris, Jul 16, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hi
    I am currently a serving soldier (Lcpl) RAMC serving in an infantry battalion I am interested in transfering to RN (MCD)
    have talkied to my RCMO and he has no idea about the process
    I am going to go to RN careers office next week hoping they know the gen
    just woundering if anybody knows the process, timescales pay drop have to complete full basic training or is there a short course
    any information or advice would be much appreciated
    thanks

2. Go on the Dii, click the Royal Navy link, then go to A-Z and look for either books of reference and/or publications. If you look at the BR3 i know it gives information for naval personnel wishing to transfer out, but not 100% of people wanting to transfer in. Worth a look though.

3. thanks for the answers guys will give those a read in work tomorrow
    have talked my my OC but as im attached arms they dont have that much input to my career
    management have talked to RCMO who is calling Glasgow to find out the process as this is new for him
    again have talked to AGC here but not much use other than telling meto sign off and rejoin.
    Seeing RCMO in the morning hope hes had some success.
    If no joy will have to call my desk officer in Glasgow and see if he can help
    been asking for months through my unit to get this far so u can imagine im begining to get a
    bit fed up with them

4. During my career I met two blokes who had transferred over from the Army. One was an AET from some obscure infantry regiment, The Duke of Toxteth's own 1/22nd Chipping Norton Forresters or something, he had to do the whole joining process from scratch.