Anyone on here a part of the recruitment team?

Discussion in 'Submariners' started by salomon kalou-less, Mar 23, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello fellas! Basically my situation is, I am a university student wanting to join the Royal Navy and I have my psychometric tests coming up soon. The AFCO is changing location and as of yet I have had no 'face time' with any of the recruitment team. I have saw various other threads on here suggesting one should sign up for the submarine taster course and things of the like. After reading this, and various other threads about SIFT interviews questions, one that intrigued me was one based about any previous visits to a naval base. Basically is this something I do myself by calling up a base or is it something I should ask my adviser to pursue?
    I know I may get battered with the usual "you want to be an officer and you cant find out yourself" but I am just curious as to the correct protocol when it comes to arranging something like a visit to a naval base/enrolling on to the submarine taster course? Do they have any benefit when it comes to the SIFT interview or is it more for peace of mind that this is what I want to do?

I have been down to Gosport to visit the submarine museum but in terms of immersing myself I havent yet had much opportunity.

I apologize if this thread is a tad boring and the poor grammar! (Busy day) I did use the search function to see if this had been asked but found no results.
  2. There are visits to places such as HMS Collingwood organised by your AFCO called potential officer courses but you'll need to be going through the application process to be eligible for them obviously. You can visit bases out of your own free will but you will do so as a member of the public.

I visited Portsmouth off my own back and went to collingwood with the RN.