Anyone fancy project managers role on the new Carriers??

Discussion in 'Diamond Lil's' started by ukdaytona, Oct 6, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Got the following email from a job agency, I have no marine engineering experience or an engineering degree but hey, never mind....

A vacancy has arisen for a Project Manager to manage the build of units for the carrier project. This is a key post where the post-holder will report direct to the Shipbuilding Director.

Key responsibilities include the following:-

Main Tasks

§ Maintaining close links with the client management team to identify and mitigate risks and maximise profit opportunities.

§ Setting production performance targets and project team objectives to ensure that overall project targets are achieved.

§ Ensuring that sufficient control mechanisms and performance indicators are in place to measure performance and highlight variances throughout the execution of the contract. Monitoring production performance through the project control mechanisms and proactively intervening to correct deviations from the planned time, cost and quality.

§ Organising, co-ordinating, and controlling the project team, through the SPSE, to maximise the teams effectiveness in meeting the project objectives. Furthering the development of individual members of the project team to enhance their current effectiveness and maximise their future potential.

§ Identifying and managing the project risks to minimise the effects on project performance. The project manager will negotiate a risk contingency with the Executive during the project target setting meeting. The Project Manager will be expected to manage the project to a successful conclusion, utilising the risk contingency only where absolutely necessary.