Any interview posts or resources? Don't want to bore yo

Discussion in 'The Fleet' started by snapdragon, Sep 8, 2006.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hiya. I really don't want to bore everyone with yet another recruitment tale, but i'm having trouble finding out any resources.

I passed my s*ght test and have been invited to an interview. My trade of choice is marine engineering and, frankly, i don't know a lot about it! Ironically it's pretty much the only trade that i dont have an information leaflet for.
    I have no mechanical experience (the local college wouldn't accept me onto a course because i am too old. I am 21), and a bit afraid that i'll be caught out in the interview. Yes, i'm applying for this trade because i 'quite fancy it', which is not what they want to hear.
    I'm swotting on my ship recognition (for some reason i can only recognise certain ships from certain angles!). Is the ship they show you mostly a frigate or destroyer? Or something else? And i going to need to say it's a Type 42 batch 3 destroyer, or is destroyer acceptable? Need to mention its class? Need to know its engines? :?

Are they going to ask about my relationship? I haven't discussed it in great depth with the other half because it seems kind of premature- i can't believe i've got this far with recruitment. And i certainly don't want to fail the interview because of relationship concerns.

Any pitfalls to avoid?

Lastly... do people commonly fail at this stage? If so, why?

Again, i'm sorry to be posting yet another recruitment question (can we have a recruitment forum, Mods?), but if anyone can point me in the direction of a helpful thread or website, or chip in a nugget or two, i'd be really grateful.

2. Re: Any interview posts or resources? Don't want to bor