any hope for a single mum, ex RN who wants to get into RNR?

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by sazaboo, Sep 26, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Basically, I am 37, I have a 6 year old daughter, Im a single mum but have a good family for childcare and her dad has her every other weekend and half the school holidays.

is there any way anyone can see, or has experience of being in RNR, doing training at weekends and school holidays and then at a certain point in time (on a slow track?) be ready for drafts etc when my daughter is a bit older...quite a bit older!

I was a dabber but in civvy life Im a project manager for the civil service.

any advise or suggestions gratefully recieved

Sarah

2. Blackrat

Blackrat War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

I'm sure that someone more qualified than me will be along with a more qualified answer but I can't see why not. As long as you can commit to the minimum requirements that is. The TA are quite flexible with this sort if thing but I have no idea about the RNR.

Posted from Hell using Lucifer's mobile.

3. cheers pal, flexibilty is pretty important...whats the TA minimum required commitment like?

4. Blackrat

Blackrat War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

From memory, I think you have to attend a minimum of 21 parade nights a year. I think you have to squeeze in the odd cheeky weekend and annual camp in though. 2DD - help me out mucker.

Posted from Hell using Lucifer's mobile.