Any advice?

Discussion in 'Submariners' started by Narky1035, Oct 30, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok, so I'm starting Dartmouth on the 3rd November and I've been told that I need to learn the 'Rules of the Road' off by heart as I'm going in as Warefare SM.

Over the phases, the Rules of the Road exam comes up in each one, so is it broken down into section A for the first term, B for the second term etc?

I'm just looking at the book, thinking that this is going to be a heck of a challenge. Can any one offer any info on what the exams are like?

Thanks!

2. For some reason you have to be able to quote the rules verbatim, with no experience or knowledge of how to actually apply them in a real situation. Can't remember if tests cover different sections - it was that long ago and I'm an engineer.
    As a dabber officer this is your trade. Get used to it.

3. For an aspiring idiot like you - bloody hard ! For someone with a modicum of common dog F - well fairly easy. Think about it, 'Rules of the Road' - it's not bloody brain surgery !

4. The good old basics are not that difficult but the last 40 odd years since I first had to do this have spawned a plethora of new lights daymarhs etc without getting rid of any of the older ones

5. Thanks for the speedy replies! So it is a case of commiting them to memory...no sweat!...

6. The Light on the Right should be Bright ;)

7. deep breath: