Am I banned from joining the Navy forever? Please help me :)

D

Deleted 88339

Hello everybody
My name is rose and I am 22 years old. I graduated from university in July last year. I need your help . Please don't judge . I have not told anyone as I am embarrassed

I recently saw an job in navy I like it is the intelligence officer post . I like the job role but I feel like I am banned due past mental health issues . Should I apply or just not bother

When I turned 21 in May 2018 I felt like my life was just a failure. I lived all these years and have nothing to show for it . I never had a relationship and I am immuture for my age . I just felt like I was never going to be happy again. I just lost my confidence. I just felt I was this stupid little girl in a world full of adults .

Every one around was doing better than me having careers and relationships. I was depressed as months went on which led to sucidal thoughts up until January.

In an out of hours service a nurse diagnosed with moderate depression and anxiety via questionnaire. I struggled with it . Nothing came out of it . I disagreed wit the anxiety diagnosis

In January 2019 I was diagnosed by a gp for moderate depression. After February I stopped experiencing depressive symptoms and no longer sucidal. I am been symptom free for 11 months .
My mental health has gotten better as time has go on .

I was never prescribed anti depressants but was told to apply for therapy . I never got therapy as I struggled to access NHS services
I self harmed in my teens but no longer do it

All that I told you is on the file
Should I apply or not bother ?

The navy website does not help at all.

Thank you and have a lovely day every one

Dredd

War Hero
Super Moderator
Only one way to answer this - visit your local AFCO and find out.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

soleil

War Hero
What is local AFCO ?
It's your local Armed Forces Careers Office, Rose. Find your nearest one and go in in person.

D

Deleted 88339