Aircrew Officer Pilot

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Raven, Jan 8, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi everyone im a newb but being an AOP is basically my dream job, even though ive only recently thought about it as a career, ive always been fasinated by flying.

im currently in my first year of university studying engineering but not out of interest, more so because its a good degree to have. i really enjoy climbing, kayaking, swimming and ive recently started boxing. i also used to play rugby for a local team and for school, do you think it would be a good idea to start again for the university, due to the team work required?

ive already been to my local armed career office and was told to think about joining the URNU or the RNR, but not to let it get in the way of my studies, do you think i should join one of the above? i used to be in sea cadets and really enjoyed that.

im also going to have some flying lessons (not many as they cost a bomb) through the next few years just to give me experience in an aircraft. i have been reading through the AIB/FATs threads on here and have been practising the various tests there are. i plan to apply for these test once i finish my 2nd year so ive got plenty of time to practise. What do you think of my plan? should i do anything else e.g. a part time job? any help will be much appreciated. thanks
  2. Where are you doing your degree, the engineering grads where I work got there PPL whilst at Uni?
  3. redmonkey

redmonkey Badgeman Book Reviewer

Hello and welcome. If the AFCO have already told you to think about joining the URNU or the RNR it might be a good idea to think about it. They are the people who know what they want in a recruit and they give the best guidance for what is best for what you want to join as.