Aircraft Handler / Naval Airman (Aircraft Handler)

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by 241mxrider, Jul 27, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. apoligies in advance if Im repeating something already posted.. :oops:

My first post...Im a newbie!

Im thinking of applying for the Navy and becoming a Aircraft Handler, Im currently 28 years old, married, with a wonderful daughter.

Ive a few bullet point questions which Ive noted below which maybe someone could answer

* How many times and for how long are you likely to be at sea throughout the year?

* whats phase 2 training like at Culdrose?

* What sort of things can a handler be expected to do?

* Would it be either Culdrose or Yevoilton I would be based at or are there others

* Is it an easy process to sort out married quarters?

If anyone can provide more info on this role or provide a contact which I could email then that would be great!

Many thanks!

2. You have your own web site, http://www.chockheads.org.uk/?page_id=1489 and their is loads of info on here, go to Search :wink: Since the decline of Aircraft Carriers in the FAA. Chockheads do not get much sea time in :lol: :lol:

3. Oh right, I though they would be at sea quite a bit... not that Im too worried though, shore based is fine..

4. search under reggies runner!!

Loads of info there. :)

5. I'm not a Wafu but I'll try and answer some of the questions

* How many times and for how long are you likely to be at sea throughout the year?

Unfortunately no diffinitive answer. As there is many factors which will decide this.

* whats phase 2 training like at Culdrose?

I don't know what the Phase 2 is like but I've been based in the Ops room in the tower in the past there, I liked Culdrose even more so as it was on my own door step pretty much.

* What sort of things can a handler be expected to do?