Aggression/Conformity within the military

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Jenny_Dabber, Feb 13, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Justa query really as I was unsure where to look/who to ask.

I am studying forms of aggression; social and biological explanations in Psychology.

I'm going down the 'conformity' route, especially experiments such as the 'Stanford Prison Experiment'. Just for example, I have taken an extract from my current essay;

What I am trying to find is any other Psychological experiment conducted with the military, when it comes to aggression/conformity.. Any country will do, as there is an ethnic venue I will be taking too.

I thought this was the best place to ask.
  2. wet_blobby

wet_blobby War Hero Moderator

You may well want to consider "controlled aggression" within the military. The examples of being provoked and refraining from violence are endless.
  3. Oh I like it, good view point :wink:
  4. Can't remember any military ones sorry but I remember doing conformity in Psychology, was good fun :)
  5. JD

I've been trying to think of helpful suggestions but can't come up with much at the moment, just off the top of my head stuff.

My first thought was as to whether there was any scope in your work for the inclusion of Hannah Arendt and the concept of "The Banality of Evil" but that is not really relevant ........ but it did set me thinking in the direction of the Wehrmacht and made me wonder whether there might be anything out there on which you could draw; I can't see how one can escape the reality of Aggression/Conformity within that particular military arena when that arena, itself, was engulfed by social and political structures which themselves were almost the very definition of Aggression and Conformity.

A quick find was this but not sure about whether it will help you: