AFCO Medical - a slight rant

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by watch_the_birdie, Feb 24, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Today I went for the medical at my AFCO (the one you do before you are deemed "fit" to progress onto the PJFT).

I went in, everything was fine and on the basis of the medical today, declared "fit". HOWEVER, I'm not allowed to progress onto the PJFT until the AFCO get hold of my medical stuff from the TA, because I'm a current serving TA soldier, and have been for over 5 years.

Ok, that's fair enough, as there is a question in the medical asking "have you ever been medically examined by any other branch of the armed forces". And obviously I have. But I struggle to see why I have to wait for the army medical records to appear, when I was declared fit today. There was another candidate with me and he was passed fit too. But he's allowed to do the PJFT now and I'm not. But he's just had the same medical examination like I've had today?! How does that work? Surely it's almost like I'm twice as much declared medically fit.......

Is there a reason behind this madness why I have to wait, and people who are not current TA/RNR/RAuxAF don't have to wait for paperwork to say they are allowed to run on a treamill, when in fact I'm cleared to do lots of other strenuous things?

Sorry for the rant, but I struggle to see the problem here.

2. It's obviously procedure :dontknow:

I'm sure it'll be fine soon enough.

3. Pay attention to Tim, he`s our resident `Know it all`.

4. did they not ask you to get hold of you're info before you did the medical? i was in the RNR and they wanted my medical info, but they asked me after i completed my interview. does seem a bit out of order. im sure the TA will be swift in sending your documents. all the best shag

5. Ignore Hig; he's the resident, geriatric cum-guzzler.