AET

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Harris921, Dec 24, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Could someone give me some more information on this job? Ive heard the promotion is quite good, how much travel is there? Also looking at RAF Air Tech but sounds like your making the tea and fuelling aircraft for the first two years.

I am a qualified car mechanic and enjoy the job but really want to feel apart of something and feel as though Im doing something with my life. I also want to travel.

Would love to hear from any serving AET'S.

Thanks.

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Most of the info on AET is in the Fleet Air Arm forum.

If you click on the search function, top right & type "AET" you'll probably find the answer to all your questions & the answers to questions you hadn't considered.

Good luck.

3. Thanks alot mate.

Also does anyone know how AET compares with RAF air tech? Just been reading a RAF forum and it sounds as though you are sweeping the floor, emptying the bins and making the tea for two years. AET seems like your straight into it stripping things down.

4. Just been looking at the RAF web-site. Their Air Tech's only do about 3-4 months in the class room then they are employed as aircraft maintenance(AMM). AMM'S then serve 18months-2 years blowing up tyres and refuelling before going back to RAF cosford to complete another 12 months class room work when they become fully qualified.

Basically your talking three years before you can touch anything. I think Navy AET is the way to go.

5. Don't be so niaive as to think AET's will never sweep a hanger floor or get involved in tea making. It's part of life. Start at the bottom and work up.

(Tip!!! make crap tea and the chances are you may never be asked again)

Or