AET vs CT

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by masha35, Oct 14, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I know, to some degree, this has been covered before by one individual, BUT.....

As some will remember/know, I have been accepted for AET(1st choice) and I have since found out I scored high enough to do CT aswell.

I dont want to make this any more boring/long than it has to be but im really a bit confused as to what direction to take(i know i have to decide in the end..but, its 18 yrs)

I have a politics degree and have always been good on current affairs, geo stuff, military etc etc...its kind of like a hobby. But so far it hasnt really turned into anything useful. Thus, a few years back i broke away from the 'social sciences' and tried my hand hand at engineering. I did an HNC and passed ok, but my maths wasnt great and i wasnt that brilliant, even though i liked it. I love my politics etc but have made a very strong effort to shy away from something that in civvie st, was failing me. I wanted to do a more hands on job.

That said, having been offered both posts potentially, im in a quandary! Ive had great help off here but noone knew, including me, that i had also been accepted for CT.

I know noone can answer me exactly, but a word of advice would help. You lot know the demands of eng in the navy and what it takes to make a go of it(exams, acceptance etc), likewise the CT stuff. I have no real idea, beyond the info here, of what i might expect(esp the CT thing). I want to be out fixing planes etc but my upbringing/interests/natural ability/comfortzone lie with intel.........dah dah!! Don't expect answers etc, but a few words of wisdom would be nice.........................thanks