AET or ET(ME)?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Newbie14, Feb 15, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I'm trying to decide between a career with the RN as either an Air Engineering Tech or Marine Engineering Tech.

I currently work as a mechanic so a career in engineering is definitely for me. But I'm struggling to find any real information to help me decide between the two. I love anything mechanical so I reckon I could enjoy either.

What I'm really after is the nitty-gritty engineering side of things, not just routine maintenance (I know this is a big part of either job) so wanted to find out from the people actually doing the job; which is more technical and relies on you using your head to figure out problems and fix them, and which has better prospects for future pay, promotion and for when I eventually leave? Which is more varied in terms of your work load?

Also, as a general question; what are the living spaces really like, I've heard it's very cosy to put it lightly. Do people generally get on together without too much agro? I'm female if that makes a difference.

And how much time generally as either an AET or MET would be spent actually on a ship on deployment vs having a shore draft? I've had it suggested to me before that if I wanted to go for AET that I should just go for the RAF, but they spend most of their time on a base in UK. I want to travel, see the world and have a great career while I'm doing it, and I reckon that can only happen with the RN.
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2014
  2. I was with you until the last paragraph and then you mentioned the R word.

Now you can use the search function like everybody else! :(

Posted from the Navy Net mobile app (Android / iOS)
    • Like Like x 1