AET - Interview prep

Discussion in 'The Fleet Air Arm' started by zRichi, Feb 27, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Aircraft gentlemen & ladies

Can someone help me prep up for my interview for the 9th March?

I've never done engineering before but have tinkered with cars enough and I've been working as a white collar professional for a Business College for the last 4 years. Can someone point give info as to what I should mention in the interview. What the interview will be like and what stuff I can drop to impress.

On a forum called "military forums" I managed to get talking to a guy that had been working on the Lynx copter for the last few years and I've had a bit of a look through the aircraft section but can't find anything interview related.

Much appreciated for your answers
  2. There's some stuff on this forum, and there should be some stuff on the letter you received with your date.

Think about your family circumstances, work experience, fitness routines and why you want to join the navy. I'm also going for AET (with my interview next month) and I've been looking at the RN website at the aircraft and what not. I'm expecting them to ask which aircraft I'd like to be drafted to.
  3. Thanks yeah I've been checking out the Navy website for Aircraft and I expect they'll want us to match up Aircraft to Carriers.

So far I've found out theres 4 main Aircraft

I've yet to match them up to Aircraft carriers though. Although after speaking to a serving AET I think Lynx is what I'll go for.

Whatever anyone can contribute that'd be great then maybe this could get stickied for any budding AET's or something.
  4. When you say "carriers" do you mean ships?

Because they're not necessarily a/c carriers, but frigates and other ships as well.

Harriers are based at RAF Cottesmore and go from carriers.

Merlin are at RNAS Culdrose