Advice

Discussion in 'RFA' started by DeeDee, Oct 25, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Guys

I am seriously considering a career change I am currently a health professional and looking at the medical technician job in the RFA, I have served 3 years in the Army previously and keep myself pretty fit. As a 46 year old do any of you envisage any problems ?

2. exJenny

exJenny War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

3. I do, more than enough educationally and I will be playing that down

4. exJenny

No dramas then.

5. You'll do for me, I think (only think) they are recruiting in the new year ......do you have any information ?

6. exJenny

Look at RFA website today!

7. exJenny - thanks bud, I have done the initial application and am waiting for a call back, don't want to appear to be a pain in the arse !

8. exJenny

Good luck.

9. exJenny - i have been thinking and have a few further questions, if you wouldnt mind

1. whats the score between the ranks, is every officer called sir and soluted on deck, or is it much more relaxed and only at a certain rank ?

2. whats the score with promotion eg, if a person is professionally qualified for a rating job i.e. Health professionalf or a Med tech job is there a chance of faster promotion upon proof of education / skills/ feedback from senior officers ?

thanks in advance

10. a bit more please !

ExJenny
    (apologies, i have tried to send this before)

whats the score with saluting and calling officers sir / ma'am - is it only the old man or every officer on deck / below deck etc ?

if i am successful.........with a BSc / MSc in Health 17 years experience etc - will i still be a rating or will i be placed at a higher rank, please ?

Thanks

11. Most are first name terms, sometimes rank title. No saluting.