Advice/Paths into the FAA?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by VPope, Aug 5, 2011.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all, firstly let me start by saying that I have little prior knowledge about the process of joining the forces and that I will appreciate advice and constructive criticism in equal measure. I have long wanted to join the fleet air arm and train as a pilot but have never thought it would be something achievable for a number of reasons. First of all i'm currently 22 years of age which is getting on for joining up (or so i'm told) also i do not meet the entry requirements for a pilot due to a complete lack of any UCAS points, I shal not bore you with my reasons but its safe to say its not a lack of ability that was my issue, regardless the situation i find myself in is that if i were to want to join I would need to pull 180 ucas points from thin air within the next 2 academic years. My question is thus, are there any paths to eventualy become a pilot with the faa by joining as another role and working there, or have any of you been in similar circumstances and have any advise as to how to go about obtaining the required points.

I do realise that with out meeting the required criteria that it is not possible to apply directly as a pilot, however at this time I feel that if I do not go for this 120% now that I may never have the chance to do so again. I am completely committed to getting there but at the moment I cant seem to find any path to follow.

Thank you in advance for your time.
  2. 2 years? I got my A Levels in 2 years, why can't you?

There is no other way of becoming a pilot in the FAA. On the plus side, we're not recruiting for them right now, so it offers a double bonus in going to get your A Levels.