Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

Advice on officer or rating please

Tryneowy

Midshipman
Hello,

I am in a bit of a dilemma and am looking for some advice. I have read previous threads (which has been helpful), however I don't think there are any recent posts with the same situation as me.

My background is as a physiotherapist so I have a degree from that. I applied in 2018 as a rating (HM - warfare) as at that point the age limit for an officer was 25 (I was 27). However I failed at the paper medical with Capita (past history of eczema). I went travelling for 6 months and when I returned this summer I went back to my AFCO to see if it was worth reapplying. I was told the age limit had now increased and was encouraged to apply as an officer. I have completed most of the stages for this (and passed the medical this time), and had another interview where I was told they were happy to put me forward to the AIB. Before the AIB the plan is to arrange a POV sometime in the New Year.