Advice on joining the RN/RNR

Hi all,

I am 6 weeks away from going to Dartmouth for AOP19 - Accelerated Officer's Programme to pass out as a general entry officer RNR in September.

However, recently I was asked why I don't join full time, and I didn't have much of an answer.
I'm about to finish my teacher training qualification and have found teaching more difficult, and less rewarding than expected.
I'm an ex URNU student, so I have some degree of confidence with expectations etc, on officers, but not a great idea of possible careers/progression in either the RN or RNR.

I am going to organise a meeting at my afco, but any advice on the matter would be appreciated. Should I sack off the teaching and see if I can join Dartmouth full time? Or should I continue with the Reserves and explore the opportunity down the line to transfer form Reserve to Regular? - Does anybody do this?

Branch-wise, I am interested in intelligence, but as seems to be a trend, there is little to no information about branch choices in the RNR. If I were to join full time I would join Warfare.

I want something exciting and rewarding - I'm confident the Navy can offer this, teaching less so.

Thanks for any replies.

Branch-Hopper

War Hero
Thanks, as ever @Sumo

@JCTeckering :
This is very difficult to answer without knowing more about you personally, and your life, loves and aspirations long-term. However......

I believe that your AIB pass can be used to join regular or reserves. However I doubt that a transfer to an RN course at BRNC will be a given. The primary reason for this is the way we are recruited. RN candidates (both BRNC and Raleigh) enter Phase One on the basis that the RN need X number of Y branch types to get to P2 at establishment Z for a course starting on the 15th of Mayvember.