Advice on being a submariner (aiming for bombers)

Bradhead

Midshipman
Good morning All

I made a post this week regarding joining then RN in what can be seen as difficult time in its history. I received some great responses. Thank you!

I am trying to collate as much information as I can about life as a Warfare Officer - submariner ( preferably bomber boats )

I am interested in particular with:
1-> Time at sea per year.
2-> General idea what day to day life is like at sea.
3-> Idea of possible career progression with ages and rank (20 currently - joining when 21)
4-> Advice on a long term girlfriend, how to make them feel better about it etc...

Thank you in advance.

Your AFCO may be able to arrange an appropriate S/M Acquaint visit for you to raise these queries as the small cadre of S/M Warfare Officers rarely contribute to this site.

pompeyexpat

War Hero
Well I am a submarine Officer, though an engineer not the warfare kind, so I'll see what help I can be.

1. It depends on the number of boats in the patrol cycle, but I'd expect you to do 1, possibly 2 if you're unlucky, deterrent patrols in a year. Having taken over the boat (on a 2 crew boat) you'll have a maintenance period of about 4 weeks, followed by an index and work up period. (Training and assessment at sea with sea training staff embarked). Back in for a short defect rectification period, then off on the patrol. 3 - 4 months on patrol then hand the boat over to the other crew, who will repeat the cycle. So you're basically looking at 6 months or so a year of 'on-crew', of which maybe 4/5 months of that at sea.

2. Dull, really dull. But then apart from one patrol over 20 years ago my career has been exclusively SSN's so I may be biased. The fact is thought that an SSBN on patrol has, by it's very nature, to do everything it can to avoid any interaction with anything. Which means finding the quietest bit of ocean they can and hiding. Important work undoubtedly, but boring (in my view).