Advice for Applying for Aircrew

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by edchannah, Jan 30, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am in the process of applying to be an aircrew officer, hopefully pilot, and I was wondering how long it roughly takes to be allocated a date for your FAT . I am currently in my last year of University and would like to avoid doing my FAT in the middle of my finals if possible. Any advice on when the best time to apply so I could be allocated an FAT sometime in June or July would be great?
  2. I sent all my applications forms off begginning of April, and got 21 August as my date, i don't think you can predict really, ask your ACLO if you can request for a certain date for FATs.
    I'm not sure if you can.
    Good luck
  3. I'm only at the early stages of the process but so far it's moving quite fast. This time of year is apparently VERY quiet on the recruiting front for all forces.
  4. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

The advice is to get your application started as soon as possible to be honest. (AIB are actually busiest Feb to July apparently!)

It's worth remembering that AIB is valid for 12 months, FATs a lot longer- you can always defer your entry, but "You've got to be in it, to win it. Innit"

If you take FATs in June/July, AIB will not be until September most likely at the very earliest.

Good Luck :thumright:
  5. How long are FATs valid for Ninja?
  6. I was told if you take them and pass them once you won't ever need to take again..... that is probably not true though. I think someone on here said it actually? Not sure.
  7. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

I think you are correct, as you either "have it" or you don't. Apparently re-sitting FATs is unlikely to alter the original outcome, or so I'm told.