A Special Old Gent

Discussion in 'History' started by Magda, Jul 26, 2011.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Magda

Magda War Hero Book Reviewer

I seem to have developed a strange complex about starting a thread - almost as if doing so would somehow reflect badly on my ability to use the search function. But I decided that as I am a Newbie I had better start acting like one, and starting threads about all and sundry and annoying people no end. :-D

On to the theme of this thread:

The other day, as part of my job, I met a fantastic old gent of 89. He'd spent 38 years in the Territorial Army, an Artillery Division, seen action on the Normandy Landing Beaches, the Netherlands, and Italy. He has a hundred and one stories to tell, but one thing he said in particular caught my attention.

He had been a part of some small party raids along the coast of France - they were taken across by the Royal Navy in small craft, dropped off, and (in theory) picked up after wreaking merry hell on whatever they could find. This sounded rather familiar to me.

The conversation then went something like this:

Him: "And that's not including all the stuff I did with the Special Forces."

Me: "Special forces? The SAS, or SBS? Or the SOE?"

Him: "History buff, are ye?"

Me: "Errr... well. Yes."

Him: "Harrumph. Good girl. Anyway, lassie, not the SAS and all that. Nutters, them lot. I did small raids in France and the Netherlands."

Me: *mind puts 2 and 2 together and makes 5* "Mr. T... have you ever heard of 10 Commando?"

Him: *eyes me quizzically* "Might have."

Me: "10 Inter-Allied Commando, made up of soldiers from occupied France, Poland, Norway and all that... all very hush-hush, top secret..."

Him: *twinkle in his eye* "Know them? I ruddy was one of them lass!"

Me: "You were attached to 10 Commando?!"

Him: "They were attached to us, lass."