A few questions

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Salty_Rupert, Jun 12, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

I am new to these hallowed halls however i've been perusing every thread I can find on joining as an officer, nevertheless I have some questions which I hope can be answered.

I am going for a bursary to be a warfare officer, just need to get my NHS number from my GP then I hand in the form. I've talked to my AFCO and they have said that for the bursary route I do the RT, the eyesight, the medical and the fitness and assuming I pass those then I have the formal interview, however I don't do AIB until after uni? Is that correct?

Additionally I haven't been running for a while and so I did a practice run in the wilderness yesterday and got 12 minutes, this is a pass I believe but only just. I will push myself harder on the day and so go quicker (and presumably its on a track?) but assuming I got 12 minutes would this be sufficient for a bursary or will I need to go full steam and hit 10/11 minutes? I'll be faster after university anyway, just wondering what it would be like now.

Finally if anyone has any experience of applying for a bursary that would be most welcome.

2. The PJFT is on a treadmill, which needs a different running style than road or track running, there is a tread about JonnoJonno's experiences in the health and fitness section.

I would say do the best you can, but don't push yourself so hard you pop something. Also give yourself a day or 3 to rest before the test so your legs are fresh, otherwise you might be flagging part way through.

Best of luck.

The advantage to doing uni apart from the experience of university itself, is the extra pay for joining as a grad.