A bit of advice please...

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by nomnomnom, Aug 1, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, i've rencently started the application process to join the RN as an Officer, i've got my Recruitment Test in 2 weeks time, but im really having second thoughts about it all. I don't really believe that i have the qualities that they're after, i just went straight for officer as i thought "i have a degree, might as well go for officer", but the more i think about it the more i realise that i don't have it in me.

I'm now thinking of joining as a Rating instead, in particular, Comms Tech, my question is; should i tell the guys at the AFCO asap and remove my application for Officer entry or just do my best in the RT and then discuss my options afterwards? Would i still be able to join as a Rating at this point or do i have to go through the whole filling in of forms process again...

Many Thanks
  2. Sombody will be along shortly to answer your question,but i am very very happy that i wont be serving under you when you dont have the confidence that is needed to become a succesfull occifer, 8)
  3. Anyone thinking like that, you are correct, means it is unlikely you have the confidence to lead, although you may be surprised at yourself.

Ratings do the same test, I should imagine it wouldn't be too hard to change across? I know of a few officer candidates who failed AIB and then went rating?
  4. That's correct, my confidence & leadership skills may improve through serving as a Rating, then i could always go down the Officer route later on. Right now though, this is a definate no for me.

I'm not that far along the application process yet, i have my RT on the 13th August..... would it be best to go to the AFCO now and express my change of interest?