3D Artist looking for help!

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by kbelkus, Jul 14, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey Ladies and Gents,

I'm not in the navy, I am a 3D artist. We are currently working on a small prototype game.

The game concept is a player vs player world. Each player will choose ship and fight one another, at it's simplest level. We will be including planes/helicopters to perform a variety of roles.

I am wondering if there is anyone that could possibly help us with a few reference photos? We are having a hard time finding photos of doors, vents, decks, hull metal. A lot of the details you can't see from google images. :)

If anyone could help it would be truly appreciated.

This is a link to the ship I have been working on. As you can see it's lacking a lot of details.

Once again any details images anyone would be willing to share/help us with would be truly fantastic.

Thanks very much!
  2. That's supposed to be a 23, is it?
  3. Thanks for the links, I should have plenty of research now.

Yes, it's supposed to be a type 23 it's not /identical/. I'm sure those guys/gals who have been aboard and work on this type of ship can pull apart the mistakes!

I'm hoping if we decide to continue this project to a much larger scale we will have some support from the likes of: BAE systems, Boeing, Westlands etc. So we can really perfect the ship classes and air units. For the moment it's only a prototype.

Once again thanks for the links!
  4. Niner_Domestic. Interesting that you should mention Jane's. A certain Fred Jane was very keen on Naval wargaming (apparently, he and his pals would blat away with air pistols at ship silhouettes on a wall to determine the outcome of gun exchanges). On finding there was little available on ship recognition and data, he began writing his own books.

Useless fact No 4 in a Series of 5,000.