34 & looking at Hydrography and Meteorology recruit

Smashy86

Hello all,

First off, as the title says I'm 34 and looking at a career in Hyrdography and Meteorology in the RN.
I currently work as a transport planner/co-ordinator, and whilst it is a decent job, it bores me to tears, and thought of being stuck in an office for the rest of my days dealing with HGV drivers.... has brought me here.

Way back in 2009, I passed adsc for the the Rifles regiment. I had been nothing but a little piss head up until that point in life, and longed to get out and do something where I felt like I was making a difference, and could look upon my job with pride. However, being said little piss head meant I didn't get a very good grade at Lichfield and was kept waiting for over a year after passing, and was then told I would have to re-apply, at this point I had turned myself around and was a little racing snake who thought running up sand dunes was fun, and I'd had a son, I began an application for the RM's, being much more confident in my fitness and having found that I was rather fond of feeling like my lungs were about to burst out my chest, but not longer after, having spoken to many serving and who had served, and being told frequently that it was no life for someone with a young child, I withdrew it and consigned myself to being a civvie for life, tried the TA... wasn't overly impressed by life at the unit and left after Phase B, although training with the regs was a buzz.

My lad is now off to high school in September, he's doing well, and I'm fairly confident (famous last words) that he will continue to do so. Won't be long until he's 18 and I'm looking back at my life thinking, what if, and regretting it.... which I already do about not joining when I was much younger.