30 years ago

Discussion in 'History' started by Darb, Mar 14, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just thought I would celebrate my 100th post with the fact that 30 years ago today I first set foot in Guzz on my way to HMS Raleigh. Seems like yesterday

I think the only person left in the mob out of my entry was, when I last looked, driving HMS Endurance. I wonder if he'll be celebrating today?
  2. Happy 100 postday to you.

28 years ago today, I walked out of Nelson Barracks on terminal leave.

3. 30 years ago I was a student at Imperial College, London on a student grant to live on.
    My naval pension was my socialfund and I had a ball.It was a great sabbatical year before I stated my second career.
    :lol: :lol:
  4. 30 years ago? I was sitting in double French, dreamily gazing at my beautiful French teacher, wondering what colour her knickers were when I should have been declining avoir...
  5. Onboard the good ship Achilles defending the realm (whilst getting pissed)..
    or should that be the other way round??
  6. 30 years ago I was up to me armpits working on Chipmunks and Bulldogs at Hurn, sorry that should be Bournemouth International Airport
  7. 30 years ago today I was doing exactly the same as you mate. I was joining HMS Raleigh for the start of my naval career as a communicator, which ended last June and I am now a darn civvie. :)

I was the last one to leave of my entry. :shock:
  8. You only joined 30 years ago giza?!! :shock: I had you down as one of the old timers who'd retired 30 years ago! :lol:

30 years ago I was still at school, about to embark on my CSEs & 'O' levels... I also made my only (extremely minor) contributions to science at 14 - none since! :oops:
  9. I was 12 and in my 2nd year at Monkwearmouth Comp, Sunderland.