2 weeks til RNFT...

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by IanHorwill, Apr 25, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all, newbie here...had a giggle at a few of the posts here already. I'm not arrogant enough to say I'm anywhere near "Navy" fitness yet but as I have my first RNFT in a fortnight and I'm still pretty new to running, any suggestions? (serious suggestions and banter welcome!)

ps. I have got about 11 minutes on a treader for the 2.4km but I'd much prefer to be closer to 9:30 asap. I'm not expectin miracles but I thought I'd ask you guys for a second opinion as the gym guy just advised me to keep runnin circuits in the neighbourhood that are about 1.5 miles and time myself :)

2. Hi Ian, i wouldnt expect massive gains in 2 weeks but I personaly have found interval training is very effective at whipping down the times as although yes running the distance is ok but to be honest variety is the spice of life and will give you better rewards.

Interval training along the lines of 1mins pretty quick pace around 80% effort then 1min walk/jog and repeat for 12 ish mins or until you reach the 2.4km distance aiming to be very tired by the end. Or try splitting the 2.4k into say 3-4 sections and the aim is to complete the 3-4 sections in your desired target time. For example you want to run it in 9.30mins then split the distance into 3 each sections so 0.8k and you must do each section in 3.10mins and rest between each section using your own judgement. Obviously not to long. Make sense? These are just 2 ways i think work but there are many others. Searching the threads here will provide you with a boat load of info!
  3. Yeah, been trollin through the forums here and found some interesting swedish hiking method called fartla I might give a bash.