Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to join our community
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site, connect with other members through your own private inbox and will receive smaller adverts!

Hello ladies and gents boys and girls

I have just passed my medical paper review, however it had come to light I should have declared something I really forgot all about as I was only 6 years old.
When I was at primary school I had a habit of falling asleep several times in a short period. Maybe 5 times in a couple of months. I’m not sure what the reasoning was by I had various tests carried out on me to no avail. I think I was just tired but I’m no medical expert.

The whole ordeal totally slipped my mind I know I should’ve asked my parents for info on my previous medical history but I didn’t and the questionnaire didn’t make me click either.

JSP950 states

Unexplained loss of consciousness or altered awareness. Candidates who have had a single episode with no definite provoking factors, who have normal cardiac and neurological examination and a normal ECG, may be graded P2 providing 12 months have elapsed since the episode and they are considered to be at low risk of recurrence112. Candidates with recurring episodes where no underlying cause can be found should normally be graded P8.

should I ring up to declare this do you think or would it be ok to take my medical history in with me and explain at the face to face medical? I have not suffered with anything similar since 2003, I am now 24. My only explanation is I shared a room with my brother, as he’s much older than me he watched tv in bed until late o clock. However as stated I’ve been absolutely fine for the past 18 years
If there is any medical experts here your advice would be greatly appreciated on whether you think I’d be a P8 candidate or hopefully a p2.
All the best
I hope you’re not going AC!

Hello ladies and gents boys and girls