RFA Deck Hand?

Discussion in 'RFA' started by Rampage, Apr 12, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey guys im new on here and am looking for some information, I came across the role of rfa deck hand and it is a role I have a great interest in. As a recent graduate (2.1 Civil engineering) i am completely board of my office job and i am lookin for a new more hands on career. I have always been a hands on kinda person and the last thing i want is to so spend the rest of my life in an office.In terms of fitness i have always have kept my self in very good shape and have always been an outdoors person, that said i have zero mariner experience.

I was wondering if anyone on here is currently or has been a rfa qualified deck hand and could advise me on whch entry route they would recommend,some information on the role , life at sea, the training involved, career progression opportunities and of course their opinion on the role itself i.e how much they enjoyed/ disliked it

I would be greatly appreciative if someone that has the experence could post on this thread or p.m. me and provide me with the info i need.Cheers!
  2. Welcome to Rum Ration, Rampage.

Just as a matter of interest, have you had a look at what is on offer on the Royal Navy jobs page too?

Career Packs| Royal Navy
  3. angrydoc

angrydoc War Hero Moderator

You'd probably be one of the highest qualified on board with that degree!
  4. with a civil engineering degree you could be looking at Air engineering officer or Marine Engineering... even the RFA has jobs for qualified engineers... why he preference for motley crew jobs?
  5. sgtpepperband

sgtpepperband Moderator Book Reviewer